Use these passwords when accessing databases from home.

ABC-CLIO American Government American Government explains the nuanced structure and foundations of U.S. government and connects these concepts to current issues and questions about political processes, constitutional rights, and international relations. It identifies values the government has traditionally upheld and how the government of today continues to reflect those values, while simultaneously examining changes that the government has undergone since the nation’s founding.
ABC-CLIO American History American History surveys American history from the colonial era and American Revolution through to the nation’s rise to eminence as a global superpower, analyzing American political conflict, economic development, and changing culture and thought as they tell one continuous and continuing story of America’s history.
ABC-CLIO EBook Collection Access reference eBooks.
ABC-CLIO Pop Culture Universe Pop Culture Universe: Icons, Idols, Ideas is an inherently fun yet authoritative database that teaches history through books and literature; clothing, fashion, and appearance; film; food and drink; music; sports; technology and media; transportation and travel… in the context of America’s past. It is a complement to any social studies course about life in America since the 1900s and an outstanding resource for research and discovery.
ABC-CLIO United States Geography United States Geography profiles all 50 U.S. states, providing information on the government, economy, history, and issues of each. Social and political challenges that each state faces as an independent entity, such as immigration, education, housing, unemployment, and management of the economy, are covered, as are places such as museums, symphonies, and naval bases defined by a state’s geography and culture.
ABC-CLIO World Geography World Geography: Understanding a Changing World develops students’ global literacy, focusing on the geographic, political, social, economic, environmental, and cultural forces that are increasingly important in our globalized world. On any given country, students can find information about the landforms and climate; natural resources and agriculture; environment; people; traditions and etiquette; food and holidays; national dress; art and landmarks; and government, politics, and economy; as well as its history and contemporary issues the country faces.
ABC-CLIO World History: Ancient & Medieval Eras World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras explores ancient civilizations, dynasties, and empires and profiles city-states, countries, and regions of the ancient and medieval world, providing a dynamic learning experience that encompasses intellectual developments, wars and cooperation, religion, cultural practices, and more from prehistory through to the beginning of the Renaissance. Students will learn how to relate the events of the distant past to the ongoing development of human history such that they become more independent and proficient researchers, with an interest in the history of long ago and an appreciation for its importance.
ABC-CLIO World History: The Modern Era World History: The Modern Era provides for comprehensive study of the emergence of the modern world, covering the history of the world from 1500 to the present. Students will learn about the evolution of modern Europe since the Renaissance; concurrent developments in Asia, Africa, and the Islamic world; the global impact of the Industrial Revolution; revolutions in France and Latin America; imperialism; nationalism; World Wars I and II; growing global powers, and more.
All ABC-CLIO Databases Provides access to the following topics: American Government, American History, United States Geography, World Geography, World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras, World History: The Modern Era. Also has access to an ebook collection.
EBSCO eBook History Collection This collection of quality history titles supports the research needs of students and faculty in the study of history. Selections range from introductory texts to more complex and detailed works for all scholars.
EBSCO MasterFILE Complete This multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 2,000 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1922. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Complete also contains full text for more than 1,000 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily.
EBSCO Political Science Complete Political Science Complete (PSC) provides full text for more than 520 journals, and indexing and abstracts for over 2,900 titles, (including top-ranked scholarly journals), many of which are unique to the product. The database also features over 340 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 36,000 full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association.
EBSCO Sociology Source Ultimate Sociology Source Ultimate provides the must-have materials for students studying aspects of human behavior and interaction. Coverage of topics ranges from gender identity, marriage and family, to demographics, political sociology, religion and socio-cultural anthropology.
All FactCite Databases Access to all FactCite databases.
FactCite American History General research resource featuring more than 6,000 illustrated articles on people, places, documents, and events in American history.
FactCite Biography for Beginners More than 600 illustrated biographies written especially for grades 3 and up. Based on the acclaimed Biography for Beginners print series. Includes narrative histories, glossaries, timelines, and illustrations, in one easy-to-search database.
FactCite Countries & Cultures In depth articles on the countries of the world. In addition to basic statistical information, this collection includes comprehensive histories, narrative overviews of language, customs, the economy, transportation, and foreign affairs. Also includes a carefully curated list of web links for further study.
FactCite Defining Moments in U.S. History This collection explores the historical context and consequences of 30 defining moments in United States history, from the Battle of Gettysburg to the events of September 11, 2001. Each event is treated in detail and supplemented with primary source documents, timelines, biographies, reading lists, glossaries, and photographs. A list of suggested research topics is included as well.
FactCite Shapers of Society Engaging 5000 to 8000 word illustrated biographies. Provides a selection of articles on some of the most essential people in world history.
FactCite Sports Champions Illustrated 2000 to 8000 word biographies on 700+ athletes from the 1800s to today. This collection covers 45 sports, including Olympic, wheelchair, and extreme sports.
FactCite U.S & World Biography Includes 10,000+ biographies of notable people, mostly historic, from around th world.
All Gale Databases Access to all Gale databases.
Gale eBooks Provides access to History in Dispute
Gale In Context: Global Issues Analyze important global issues and events through topic overviews, international viewpoints, news, and multimedia content.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today’s important social issues.
Gale In Context: U.S. History Uncover information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in U.S. history from a variety of sources.
Gale In Context: World History Uncover information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in world history from a variety of sources.
Infobase American History American History is a comprehensive resource that spans our nation’s history, with a user-friendly interface and award-winning content. The home page offers many ways to begin exploring the material, from the videos, slideshow overviews, and Topic Centers to the lists of key content handpicked by our editors to help users find a starting point for their research. Topic centers include America at War, Foreign Affairs and U.S. Government, Multicultural America, Society and Social Issues and more.
Infobase Issues & Controversies in History Covering every region of the globe from antiquity to the present, this comprehensive reference database features hundreds of in-depth pro/con articles—all written by professional historians and experts—each based on a broad range of primary sources. It delivers dynamic, concise, and balanced articles on every major historical topic, from slavery, empire, and revolution to race, gender, and economics. Many articles feature “what if” questions, speculating on how history might have turned out differently had people made different decisions.
Infobase Polling the Nations Polling the Nations brings together thousands of polls going back more than a third of a century, giving students the tools they need to investigate, analyze, and think critically about the important challenges facing the world—a must-have database for any institution.
myON News (Renaissance) Provides daily access to articles in five language (English, Spanish, French, Arabic, and Mandarin.)
ProQuest CultureGrams Provides access to: World Edition, Kids Edition, States Edition (US), and Provinces Edition (Canada).
ProQuest All Central Student Databases This database brings together many of ProQuest’s most important, complete databases in the most-studied subject areas, including science, technology, education, social sciences, humanities, and news.
ProQuest Psychology Database This database provides abstracts and indexing for key Psychology titles, many which are available in full text. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.
ProQuest Religion Database Religion Database provides a wide range of primarily full-text periodicals and other sources for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many worldwide religions.
ProQuest Research Library: History Medical Science, Nursing, Allied Health, Public Health, Pharmacology – journal articles, trade publications and consumer publications.
ProQuest Research Library: Social Sciences Sociology, Psychology, Communications, Political Science, Linguistics, Criminology, Education – journal articles, trade publications and consumer publications.
ProQuest Social Science Database Social Science Database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
Rosen Learning Center Interactive eBooks ancient civilizations, the civil rights movement, civic action, a CyberSmarts series, global issues and social emotional learning.

Other Resources:

Constitute Constitutions for every country.

Digital Florentine Codex An encyclopedia of 16th-century indigenous Mexico.

Digital History A website supported by the College of Education at the University of Houston.

Digital Public Library of America Primary Sources — organized by subject and time period.

Encyclopedia Virginia  Resource focused on history and culture of Virginia.

Global Elections Calendar Searchable database of upcoming and past elections information provided by the National Democratic Institute.

IFES Election Guide Global elections database, interactive map, RSS updates and more from the International Foundation for Electoral Systems.

JSTOR Open Access Academic content on JSTOR that is open access.

Library of Congress Access to digitized collections, research databases and much more.

National Archives From the U.S. National Archives and Records Administration

United States Census Bureau  “Measuring America’s People, Places, and Economy.”

World Digital Library A project of the U.S. Library of Congress with UNESCO and international libraries, archives, museums and educational institutions.

For information on country statistics, see World Bank Open Data, the US State Department’s Countries & Areas, or the CIA World Fact Book.

Updated 20Aug24